Yarn Conversion

Resources

I’m looking at a sock/glove pattern which specifies koigu yarn – something that’s tricky to get locally. I’m trying to convert it to a different yarn, possibly adjusting the number of stitches to cast on. Confusion! What is the difference between sock-weight, fingering-weight and 4-ply? I looked at fingering-weight yarn here and it’s the same as 4-ply ! Sock weight was easier as it seemed to be slightly tighter spun. Anyway, how much will I need? These pages sort of helped clear things up:

I never did get the hang of this before. I always erred on the side of caution when buying yarn, so I would end up having too much left over after each project. Ahah! Stash building – that’s what I was doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

