Washing Noro Sumile

Scarves

wavyscarf-blockedWhen I was knitting the hat and scarf, I was struck by how rough the chenille yarn felt and how ‘flat’ it was. The yarn was more like a flat furry ribbon than a pipe cleaner in the way the fibres were attached to the central core. It didn’t really feel the way I expect chenille to feel – soft and fluffy.

Once they were cast off and the ends woven in, I threw caution to the winds and the hat and scarf into the washing machine on a gentle 30 degree C cycle with a little fabric softener. I know you shouldn’t really machine wash chenille, but I was a little at a loss at this point.

The pleasant surprise is two fold. The chenille yarn appears to survive gentle machine washes and it has fluffed out so the hat and scarf feel a lot softer than they were.

I think I’ve ended up blocking the scarf like I said I might. When I took it out of the machine the pattern was much less distinct than before. I laid it out on a table, stretched sections out to even up the width, tweaked the ribs back into place, then scrunched things up slightly to emphasize the shape. I’ve left it to dry like that in the hope the pattern will be obvious when I move it. It takes up the full length of the table, even squished into shape. I’m currently resisting the urge to keep checking how dry it is!

Leave a Reply

