Wavy Hat finished

Finished Objects, Hats

Wavy Hat

Finally, it’s done and I’m reasonably happy with it 🙂

  • Pattern: ‘Wavy Hat‘ – mine
  • Yarn: Noro Sumile Multi, shade 106 lot B, 65 grams (less than 2 skeins)
  • Needles: one 80cm 4mm circular and one 80cm 4.5mm circular – using magic loop method.
  • Finished measurements: 22″/55cm circumference, fitting up to 23-24″ head.
  • New technique attempted: Magic loop – worked well after initial teething problems.

I wasn’t intending this to be an exact match to the wavy scarf I’m making. I have to say I’m a little disappointed because the waviness is much more gentle than I was intending. It’s more like the pattern used in the wavy scarf than I meant it to be, even though it uses quite different techniques. To be honest, if I’d thought ahead and looked much more closely at the patterns I was using for inspiration, I’d have realised that the effect I was attempting to achieve wasn’t going to happen. The angles of the wave aren’t sharp enough and it took too many rows to get a noticeable wave going.

That said, the pattern is still visible when the hat is stretched on my head and not the dummie’s. The SSK and K2tog in the pattern and decreases turned out to give a good ridged effect that stands out against the colour changes. This wouldn’t have happened if I used the wavy scarf pattern repeat, as nonaKnits does for her wavy hat.

The hat fits very snugly with just enough room to fit a ponytail under it. Bonus! I don’t have to wear my hair loose with it and I love the way the colours have pooled. 🙂

Leave a Reply

