Fear of gloves

Gloves

I happened to mention in an email to my sp10 spoilee that I was trying to pluck up the courage to start a pair of fingerless gloves. It was then that I realised that I really had been avoiding it for far too long. Having skim-read the pattern I wanted to use, I had retreated rapidly to sampler squares thinking “I’ll never manage those!”

The broad street mittens pattern is well thought out, clearly explained and includes tips for making the gloves fit properly at the base of the fingers. The drawback for me is that its instructions are for using dpns – and I hate those with a passion! So, last night I read the pattern a lot more closely to try and figure out how it would work on circulars. And just to make the cat’s cradle that little bit more tangled, I’m gonna try this knitting both gloves at once with the magic loop method . Hey, if the knots are gonna happen they might as well be spectacular 😉

I’m gonna cast on tonight. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Fear of gloves

  1. I can’t believe you don’t like dpn’s! They’re a bit tricky at first, but once you get the hang of it they’re so useful and versatile. And they’re so short you can fit them in anywhere. Very neat.

  2. You’re right, they are versatile. (That’s the way I think about circulars.) To be fair, I should give em another try, but not on gloves!

    The last time I used them, I was knitting a pair of socks. At that point I swore ‘never again’. (I’ve also knitted collars, cuffs and welts on them.)

    I had to pull the yarn really tight on the stitch at the start and end of each needle, to avoid the dreaded ‘ladder effect’ that kept happening if I didn’t. This was also the way I stopped the needles falling out of the work. This meant it was almost impossible to knit the start and end stitches, and got quite painful towards the end of one sock – let alone the second.

    Any suggestions on avoiding ‘ladder effect’ with dpns much appreciated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

