Stash busting, rant and plans

Stash

http://alexandrasknits.blogspot.com/ has a clear set of instructions for making a knitting needle roll. Now, if I made one that’d reduce my sewing stash a little.

But…Oops, too much yarn My yarn stash has exploded! I picked up some Jojoland melody, more Noro kureyon, a random Rowan boucle, Lamb’s Pride, a couple of patterns and some SWTC bamboo yarn.

Pink overkill going on here. Why does every yarn company assume that pink should be in the majority of their ‘multi-color’ schemes?!! The world does not revolve around knitters who like pink/pastels! The bamboo stuff is way too pink! And the kureyon yarns each have more pink than the shade chart suggested. GRRRR 😡

The bamboo colorway is ‘purplexed’ and the pictures I saw of it looked ok, with more purple than pink. The batch I got, well I’m going to have to find another use for it or re-dye it. The person it was for is worse than me about their dislike of this color.

The kureyon is less of a pain – I was needing pink aran weight for the toddler Lizard Ridge hat that I’ll be making for my friend’s kid. I’d originally decided kureyon wasn’t going to work, because the shades with lots of pink (that I didn’t buy) had colors in them that the child wasn’t so keen on. All I need to do now is remove the offending sections with some color either side and presto! There’s the multi-color pink for the hat, and I have some lovely shades leftover. 🙂

Leave a Reply

