Chameleon

Finished Objects, Hats, Scarves

Chameleon - hat Chameleon - scarf Chameleon - balaclava Chameleon - head band Chameleon - Sahariane

Is it a… hat? scarf? balaclava? headband? sahariane? It’s all of em 🙂

  • Pattern: Chameleon – mine
  • Yarn: 100g pure linen, 18 wpi, charcoal.
  • Needles: 1 x 3.25mm and 1 x 4mm 80cm circulars (magic/lazy loop).
  • Circumference=20″/51cm and length= 20″/51cm

This turned out well considering it’s a first attempt at ‘proper’ lace knitting, and I made the design up. I’ve tried it on and it fits! Being rather camera-shy though, I’ve let ‘Sev’ do the modelling. Of all the permutations, my favourites are the hat and scarf.

There is one niggle – I couldn’t figure out how to hide the start of each round in the net section, so the holes look slightly mis-shaped at that point. This also means there’s a noticeable join when the scarf is laid out flat, but this gets lost when it’s being worn so that’s ok. I’d like to figure out knitting ‘seamless’ net for a future lace idea.

Yes, there will be a next time for lace! I enjoyed making this. I’ll freely admit that the k2tog every other st in the net was a little hard on the fingertips, but the end result justified it. I think at some point I’d like to make an ‘openwork’ shrug or cardi; first, I need to practice techniques a bit !

Many thanks to my SP for the yarn and encouragement 🙂

3 thoughts on “Chameleon

  1. Well done! And that is one cool dude… Haha! No serioulsy, it looks really nice. And I’m so proud to be part of your lace maiden voyage!

  2. That is a VERY nice design. I’m still trying to figure out how you did it. I saw this on ravelry and had to tell you how nice I think this is.

Leave a Reply

