Return to Lizard Ridge

Finished Objects, Hats, Lizard Ridge

Skater Girl Emma

The weekend was fun, and my friend loved her birthday present – a lizard ridge hat I’d made earlier this year. She has to travel to Edinburgh everyday for work, and it’s going to come in handy when she’s waiting on chilly Scottish train station platforms. She and a friend tried it on for the camera 🙂

When I got back, I cast on and finished another one – this time the one I’d been planning for my friends kid. It’s very pink!

Lizard Ridge Hat Lizard Ridge Hat

  • Pattern: ‘Lizard Ridge Hat‘ – mine. I’ve updated it to include where I switched to work from the opposite end of the ball of Noro.
  • Yarn: MC – Noro Kureyon, shade 102 lot X, 50 grams (1 skein)
    CC – Debbie Bliss cashmerino astrakhan, shade 31013 lot 56 (purple), less than 50grams, knits to the same gauge as the kureyon.
  • Needles: one 40cm 4mm bamboo circular.
  • Finished measurements: 19-20″/ 48-51cm circumference, fitting up to 21-22″ head.

The boucle (ahem, astrakhan) yarn that I used as the contrast worked well. It’s turned into a lovely soft ‘fluffy’ fabric. It produced an interesting dimple effect on the crown, when the hat’s ‘worn tall’. However, I think I’ll wait a while before using that type of yarn again – it was a real **** to work with!

While I was knitting the pink lizard ridge hat, my thoughts turned to knitting socks, as they seem to do rather a lot at the moment. Now there’s a little voice in the back of my head whispering ‘lizard ridge socks… you know you want to!”

Leave a Reply

