Juggling Spaghetti

About, Gloves

resting tangleOn Monday I had to go for a couple of appointments in the same eye clinic. Thankfully, they were both in the same afternoon, although still two hours apart. For the first time ever, I took knitting with me.

My latest project is a set of arm warmers/gloves for a friend who works from home a lot. I decided to try working with SWTC’s bamboo yarn this time, and once again knitting both at the same time on 2 circulars. Cue the waiting room… I hauled out the seemingly tangled mass of needles and trailing yarn, sorted it out and got going.

A couple of rounds later an older lady came and sat beside me and we started chatting. We swapped stories of what we’d made before, what we make now, and how very fine count needlepoint can be a pain to do. The time passed quickly, and at least two nurses came over and asked what I was making as well. They were surprised to see both gloves on the needles at the same time, saying they’d never seen the technique before. It must have been a bit of a sight, with the needles trying to spring every which way, and me seeming to spend more time moving stitches about than knitting!

I think maybe I’ll take knitting with me more often when I have to wait around for ages somewhere. It certainly breaks the monotony, and you get to chat to interesting people too 🙂

2 thoughts on “Juggling Spaghetti

  1. I remember knitting a tube with DP’s for a school project. The principle walked in and gave me the funniest look and spoke in whispers to my teacher. I think that if this had been my children, it probably wouldn’t have been allowed (to knit in school). I don’t know why people get so freaked out about knitting needles.
    : )

  2. It’s interesting isn’t it? Is probably same reason misguided airport security get concerned when they seem ’em. The poor deluded souls think they might cause an ‘accident’. If they checked, they’d see that the very tips of most knitting needles are the same size or bigger than the tips of pens/pencils. folk don’t freak about those…

Leave a Reply

