Facecloth II

Finished Objects

Experiment II

  • Pattern: ‘Laura’ doily, designer verlag otto beyer, plus my alterations – see below.
  • Yarn: Jaeger Aqua cotton dk, shae 304 lot 2915079.
  • Needles: 1 x 40cm 4mm metal circular.
  • Finished measurements: 14in diameter.

I seem to be getting interested in all things circular… No sooner had I finished the last facecloth, than I found this pattern and started thinking ‘what if’ again. After just under 2 evenings, the finished article was pinned out to within an inch of its life.

The original pattern was fairly easy to follow, even though it is slightly more complex than the last one. It called for a crochet edging, which I ignored. I wanted to try for a knitted eyelet-ish edge. Almost got it right 🙂 I also added a hanging loop, with the thought that the item would be a facecloth.

Then I realised that the two cloths had turned out the same diameter, so now I’m thinking about bag panels or cushion covers. Who knows?

2 thoughts on “Facecloth II

  1. I love this facecloth! I am just starting to knit again after many years, so I am doing facecloths to practice my stitches and ability to follow patterns. I must try one like this 🙂 Good luck with your new house…

Leave a Reply

