Tallinn Scarf

Finished Objects, Scarves

IMGP2226IMGP2227

  • Pattern: Tallinn Scarf, by Ziina plus my mistakes/alterations – see below.
  • Yarn: 200g (1 ball) Marble chunky by James C Brett, shade MC8 lot 790.
  • Needles: 1 x 80cm 6.5mm metal circular.
  • Finished measurements: 159cm length, 44cm width (widest point just before split).
  • Gauge attained: 13st and 14 rows to 4in/10cm in pattern

This was a fun project and quick to make up. I’ll freely admit that I messed up somewhere along the line. This is what I did or if you want to hop straight to what I think of the yarn I used, go for it 🙂

What I did for the scarf

I would stress – use Ziina’s pattern, not my meanderings. Her version will work. I just jumped in with both feet (well, needles anyway) and this is just me trying to figure out everywhere where I goofed.

  1. I cast on 3 st and knit a row as per the original pattern, but placing a st marker immediately before and after the centre st.
  2. I then followed this repeat which incorporates the increases and pattern instructions, until the scarf measured roughly 41cm wide (55 st). The scarf later turned out to be nearer 44cm wide, but hey – this is a stretchy pattern! The other thing is, I think that there should have been 3 increase rows per pattern repeat, but I only included two. oops.

    row 1: K to 1st st marker, sm, m1 (twisted as per pattern), k1, m1, sm, k to end.
    row 2: k
    row 3 + 4: rep rows 1 and 2 again.
    row 5 (yo row): (k, yo twice) to last st, k1.
    row 6: knit knitted st from previous row, dropping yo as you go.

  3. Next came splitting the scarf into two legs, so I knitted to 1st st marker, remove marker, bind off centre st, remove 2nd st marker, k to end. Slip 1st half of stitches before bound off centre st to waste yarn.
  4. Straight section (first leg):
    *Completing 1st straight pattern repeat: Working on remaining half of st only, knit another 3 rows, followed by yo row, finishing with another knit row.
    Rest of straight section: I repeated the following another 19 times – knit 4 rows, yo row, knit another row.
  5. Decreases (first leg): Ziina’s pattern calls for a double decrease in the centre of a row, which only works if there’s a central stitch. Luckily, I had 27 stitches on each leg. If I hadn’t, I’d have worked the 1st decrease row as ‘k to centre 2 stitches, k2tog, k to end’ – basically as per “1. decrease:” from the pattern.
    As it was, I went straight into the double decreases, and because I didn’t have a lot of yarn left, I incorporated 3 decreases into each pattern repeat. It took 3 pattern repeats to decrease to 9 st. This produced quite a sharp angle, so maybe there should have only been two decrease rows per repeat. Some of the decreases ended up on the yo rows, which isn’t what the pattern called for. I can see why – you end up with long ‘floats’ depending on how the scarf stretches, which don’t look so great.
  6. I then departed from the pattern even more – I knit 4 rows, a yo row, 2 more decrease rows, another knit row, and a final two decrease rows. These rows gave me a slightly sharper point
  7. For the second leg, I slipped the stitches from the waste yarn back onto the needles and repeated from (4)*.  There was only 4m of yarn left after I finished.  It would have been perfectly possible to work both legs of the scarf at the same time, using both ends of the ball of yarn. In fact I did try, but I got in such a tangle that I reverted to working one at a time.

Once I’d woven in the ends, I stretched the yarnovers into place by pulling the scarf taut. I couldn’t block it because the yarn was acrylic.

What I think of the yarn

The yarn was actually a pleasant surprise. I bought it because of the vibrant colours. I walked away from the stand several times, but kept finding myself going back. In the end, I gave in and ended up with 2 balls. One went to a friend for christmas, and the other became this scarf.

Ok, James C Brett Marble Chunky is acrylic, but it is soft, springy and very touchable – none of that horrid synthetic feel I normally associate with cheap stuff. The price was good too, at £2.99 to £3.50 a ball, and the colour stripes are fairly long, so it could be used in a lizard ridge blanket square or for the hat… I know, I know – suggesting something other than Noro for lizard ridge is heresy to some folk. I certainly think of Noro yarns before any other when considering a new project. But seriously, give this yarn go.

Leave a Reply

