SP12 – question of the week catch up

Swaps

Unlucky Question 13!

If you were told you could never again buy yarn, what would your last yarn purchase be?
5kg of 4ply (fingering weight) sock yarn – 1kg silk/merino blend, 1kg bamboo/wool blend, 1kg cotton/elastan blend, 1kg cotton/acrylic blend, and 1kg pure wool. All in a variety of colours but no pink whatsoever.
That should keep me going for a few years, and not just for socks!

If you were told you could never knit again, what would be the last thing you’d knit??
A felted 3/4 length coat out of the noro yoroi I have stashed away.

In a given year, how many times do you buy yarn? And what is your favorite place to buy yarn from? A festival? A shop? Online? Dish your favorite places!!
I buy yarn about 8 times a year – usually a couple of big (for me) online purchases and the rest are opportunistic shopping with friends.  I’ve never been to a yarn festival, so I dread to think how much I could spend if I did go to one! My favourite yarn shops (at the moment):

  • getknitted.com – fast service, reasonable range, good bargains and above all prompt friendly responses to email enquiries.
  • Twist fibre crafts – not used their website, but the shop is like an Aladdin’s cave. The folk who run it are very helpful. When I couldn’t go in to pick something up, they posted it out the next day.

Lastly, with Fall in full swing in many areas, what is the one thing you look forward to most?
Kicking up fall leaves while walking to work. It reminds me of fun things that’ll be happening soon like toffee apples and bonfires and my friend’s halloween/fireworks party.

Question #12
I’m sure most of us have a proudest moment when it comes to knitting. A project or technique that you’ve tackled and completed beautifully. What is your proudest knitting moment??
Learning to cable without a cable needle:) It revived my interest in knitting!

And on the flip side? What is the one thing that you can’t get right? What is that one project that you’ve never been able to complete? Or that you did complete but then hid away instantly because it was too embarrassing?
A felted hat I tried to make recently – it just didn’t work, still too big even after several journeys through the washing machine. And further back? a brioche stitch beret – looks great on the styrofoam head but it so doesn’t suit me!  (That one ended up in a charity shop.) I still haven’t finished the spiral boot socks I started. I have most of the second sock to do and that’s 7 months later… One sock at a time – never again!

Leave a Reply

